7mm-08 thoughts

JimNv

Looking for some thoughts and opinions on this cartridge for an AR-10 build. I have some parts I've been kicking around for a couple of years and want something not .308 or 6.5 CM. I have 308's, a 6.5 CM and 6.5 PRC. 7mm-08 looks good because it's gaining popularity and cartridges and bullets are becoming more readily available.

Nothing to think about really, been shooting one for a long time. I've killed 23 elk with mine, seen about that same number shot with one. Ranges on elk from 70 yards to 620. Boatloads of deer pronghorn, a couple black bears, a bighorn ram, etc.

Kills above it's weight class, easy to shoot, modest price for reloading. Shoot 140 accubonds 43.0 grains of varget...2850 fps in mine.

IMG_0451.jpg

IMG_0451.JPG[img]

Last edited:
It's a great round but you already have several VERY similar calibers. If you want it, go for it but it isn't going to do anything that your others won't.
This is true. Been looking at some other calibers. 338 federal looks interesting. Necked up .308. Carries a pretty good punch. 300 WSM looks good as well. big punch, longer reach. Pricey rounds. Son has the dies for it so reloading wouldn't be an issue.

Awesome round , my daughters and wife all shoot the 7mm - o8. It used to be used by the silhouette shooters , very accurate with H or IMR 4350 with 140 accubonds