171-173 Archery on foot

R

rockclimber

Hi everyone!
I'm relatively new to hunting NV, last year was my first year. I'm from PA so this is quite the change. I'm still trying to figure out how to set my tree stand up in a sagebush.....

This year i drew an early archery tag for units 171-173. It was the last of my choices.

So i'm trying to do some quick homework so that i at least get out and have some fun.

I unfortunatley don't own and can't afford to rent horses. So i'll be hoofing it. Can anyone recommend any general areas to start looking? I've read the NV hunter sheet and gotten some general info. Maybe an idea of somewhere that i could drive to that is a good access point for hiking in. I don't want to steal anybody's honeyhole....just a general idea of somewhere to start looking..

I'm ordering maps at the moment and plan on taking a couple days to head over and scout before season.

thanks for any info
RC

RC, you might want to look at Stewart Creek (columbind camp ground) It's a good camp spot and it is on the north west border on the ach dome wilderness area. Its about a two mile hike up to the top. There are some good trails up there. I've rifle hunted in there and have had good luck. But never bow hunted there.

I would say the same I have archery hunted that very same spot you can find bucks right out of camp.Just take the main trail south out of camp and start walking you will find deer, the problem will be bedding them from first light till the time they lay down they may walk for over a mile and its tuff to keep on them.If you go there dont think you need to be on the top of the moutain deer are from the bottom all the way to the top and it seemed like the better bucks were at mid level good luck.