280 AI -Nosler E-tip 140 gr.

bodhi

Finally found some ammo for my new 280 AI. anyone use E-tip ammo recently? How did it perform on deer size game? they seem to have good reviews but I've never used this ammo before. It's either this gun or my 06 with a 165 accubond. I know what the accubond will do but want to reach out a little more with the Ackley.

Thanks,
B

Haven’t ever messed with the E-tip. Always found the sweet spot for the 280ai to be the 160ish grain range. 168 Berger VLD, 162 grain eldx and 160 accubond to name a few.

A 140 mono bullet is about as long as a 160 range cup and core so a 140 e-tip seems about right to me.
I’ve shot a ton of mono-metals but that’s been Barnes and now Hammer.
They should perform well if they shoot well enough in your rifle.
Sorry, I have no hard facts for that Bullets

Zeke

We have shot over a dozen deer, antelope, and cow elk with 100 grain etips out of a 25-06 AI. performance has always been great and we never got a bullet back until my daughters mule deer last year. The shot was 360 yards quartering slightly toward us. She punched it in the onside shoulder killing it very quickly. While skinning we found the bullet near the rear ham. Perfect mushroom and weighed 95 grains.

I actually think the 140 will be perfect for the 280 AI because monolithic bullets perform better at higher impact velocities. Should kill anything you hit with ease.-------SS

We have shot over a dozen deer, antelope, and cow elk with 100 grain etips out of a 25-06 AI. performance has always been great and we never got a bullet back until my daughters mule deer last year. The shot was 360 yards quartering slightly toward us. She punched it in the onside shoulder killing it very quickly. While skinning we found the bullet near the rear ham. Perfect mushroom and weighed 95 grains.