2B non resident help

JVJ

What are my chances of drawing a tag for this area? And is it a good area? Muzzle loader or rifle is what i would like to do.I have never hunted New Mexico, any help would be greatly appreciated. If you have info on any other area close to the 4 corners area i would like to know.......

Tough to draw and the later the better from what I hear. Many of the deer are migratory deer from Colorado. Still a chance for a big deer though.

guided odds or OK, but its a great hunt i live in 2A and guide a-b-c. Rifle is better if you are going non guided, muzz hunts are lots of scouting and prep! I work in the oil field here and scout all year really helps! Its a WONDERFUL hunt if you draw, great glassing and HOLD OUT FOR 170+

I have lived and hunted in the 2a, 2b, and 2c area my entire life. The odds' of drawing a rifle hunt in any of these units is pretty tough as they are heavily sought after. There is an abundance of deer in all three areas, but 2b would probably have the highest concentration. The resident deer herd there is very healthy and as Colorado gets snow fall, the deer herd migrates into the area. As was mentioned, you do have a great opportunity to harvest a trophy animal. It does require patience though, because if you have done your homework at all, you will see lots of smaller bucks. 2C is the trophy area in which many of the 200+ bucks are taken. There are only 50 rifle tags offered there(if things haven't changed) so drawing the unit will be tough. If you are lucky enough, hold out until you find a buck that suits you. I have never drawn that tag, but have guided there and worked oil rigs in area and I have seen some monster bucks. A 180+ buck here is very realistic if you wait, glass, and leave the roads.