300 WSM, low velocity

Calif_Mike

Have started testing handloads in my Rem 700 CDL SF. The two bullets I have been testing are a 180 gr Nosler Partition and a 168 gr Barnes TSX. So far with the 180 gr Nosler the best velocity I can get is 2750 using max loads of RE-19 and RE-22. Both my Speer manuel and the Nosler website say I should be in the mid 2900 range.

For the 168 Barnes I am right at 3,000 with max load of RE-19.

I've been loading for many years and know books tend to be high but man this stinks! Anyone have a pet load they want to share?

Calif_mike

I don't own one, and never will! just don't think they have any class! but that's my opinion, i have loaded them for a buddy using 180 gr scirocco's on top of 72 grs of h4831 this is a compressed load and gives a bit under 2900 fps, WORK UP if you use this load, start at about 69 gr. the most accurate load i tested was with imr 4064, at about 2850 fps.

The fastest 180 load I've tested in the 300WSM was right at 3000 fps, with a hot load of RE-22 I think. as I've said before the 300 WSM won't run with the old 300 Win Mag no matter what the salesman says.

Go down to the 150 gr. if you want it to go fast. I tend to agree with the above, it won't especially with the 180 gr., keep up with the 300 win. mag.

I do think it is a great round with the 150 gr. accubond, that is what I use. It is around 3150 I think, but it is hot.