37A Bull Elk Success

NiceRack

We had 4 Bull Elk tags for 37A and filled all of them within 3 days of hunting. We saw over 60 Elk every day, among them 6x6's, 5x5's, rag horns and spikes. My son Walter shot the biggest one (photo below) a 6x6 at 300yds with one clean shot to the heart. The part of 37A that we hunted was all ours, we never saw another Elk hunter.

Fish and Game only issues 70 total tags for 37A, 7 of which are for non-res, we drew 3 of the 7 non-res tags and 1 res tag as a group. The unit is quite large and easily can handle 70 hunters. I did not advertise "where" we saw and "killed" all the bulls just the unit. We had to cut up and pack out 3 of the bulls uphill about 3/4 of a mile in a drainage that was so steep mules or horses could not go. I have been applying for 37A for the last 5 years and finally got drawn and should I not get drawn next year I will gladly share the exact location with another MM reader that did draw.
I have scouted 37A for many years and follow several Elk herds well in excess of 500 total Elk throughout the year. It's "our" National Forest and "our" Elk. If I can help bring another hunter success I'm glad to help!
Paul

Yeah i was curious as to why you were advertising your success while identifying a unit, but I didn't realize that it was a coveted controlled hunt.

I know the unit. I know it's controlled. I am glad you shot elk. I am glad you are willing to share.

I just think your initial post- which included no details about how hard hunt was, certainly can tack on an additional 10 20 new applicants to a unit every year. Not a big deal- just saying.

Were you going into the hunt hoping to fill your tag with any bull? Did you hear of any guys doing well on anything bigger?