52 Years Ago, where were you?

kilowatt

Well a lot of you were not even born yet and some others were running around in diapers filled with poop.

I was standing in line at Fort Ord, CA getting new clothing for the next 3 years....yea my first day in the US Army. In short order next was getting a military haircut and not to my style either. Buzz cut no choices.

What a wake up that was but had to make it through Basic Training and then out of there. Looking back now was probably the best thing I could have done at the time and never regretted even now 52 years later.

Brian
http://i44.tinypic.com/es7x8z.jpg[/IMG]

Feb. 1964, I was probably trying to find a record store that carried the Beatles 1st album, Meet The Beatles.

Or.... Brant hunting as the season ended around the 20th of February back then.

Or....steelhead fishing if the rivers were fishable.

Or....running my trap line behind our house.

Or....at school wasting time as I was a sophomore in high school.

I was just born. I was one of those kids that grew up in a time of piece. No wars until I was old enough that they didn't want me. My Dad was in the Army. and a Merchant Marine earlier. Thanks for fighting for our liberties !

Kilo, I was a Jr. in high school. It will be another year, 1965 when I finished high school and joined the Army at age 17, turned 18 one month after joining.
Then I had my turn in line for that buzz cut at Ft. Ord and basic training. My Father had to sign for me to join since I was not 18, and my Mother gave him hell for doing it. He knew I would just wait another month and join at 18 anyway. I do not regret it either. Used the G.I. bill and CAL-Vet bill to buy my first two homes and the G.I. bill to get my college degree.

RELH

I wasn't even a wet dream yet. Love to here the stories though so keep telling.

"Courage is being scared to death but
saddling up anyway."