Africa Quote/comment for Yahoo news story?

G

gloppy

Hi, I'm a writer for Yahoo Travel, and we're doing a story on pros/cons of trophy hunting in Africa. We're looking to get some hunters who have been there to comment on the record about their experiences, why they do it, why they feel it should be kept legal, etc. Please drop me an email if interested.

thanks,

Bill Fink

[email protected]
www.billfinktravels.com

Bill, since you're asked for comments on a public forum, I may be willing to discuss this subject with you, but first I have a few questions.

1. What assurance does anyone who is pro-hunting have that your article will be objective and unbiased, without an agenda? Or, will this supposed article be similar to all the 'Cecil' hysteria currently going around FB and Yahoo?

2. What editorial authority, if any, will you allow to people who write to you on this subject with regards to the comments they furnish?

3. Where can we read some of your other published articles on hunting in general, or African hunting specifically? Do you have any conservation articles that you can point us toward to help understand your motivation for wanting commentary for this article.

Yahoo does not have a particularly good reputation among those in the conservation and hunting communities for objectivity and writing without an agenda that leans in a direction that most of us would find questionable. However, if you can provide satisfactory answers, I may be willing to engage you in a thought provoking discussion of the subject about which you ask. I have the experience in African hunting, as well as African friends who's livelihoods depend on hunting safaris, to engage you in a civil and candid discussion. But, I'll require that you provide some assurances before I write anything beyond this response to your query.

Dan

yes if you answer the other gentlemen with some examples of unbiased articles I would also respond to a survey or direct convertation

Bill,