Another one of those, I've got 13 pts.....

fallguy

I just did all my CO apps except for deer. I'm sitting on 13 pts as a resident and am trying to make the best use of them. I'd like a crack at a 180ish buck and don't have an issue eating the tag. I've been applying for 44 3rd season for the past 5 years or so and always a point or two behind. Based on some of the reports from there, I'm glad I didn't draw on some of those years.

I'd like to use the points this year and if I don't draw, use them in 2021 for sure. Strategy-wise, I can apply for a good unit this year that I should draw for sure or I could roll the dice on a unit that took 13-14 last year and if I don't draw, try for a 10-12 point unit in 2021.

Some of the GMU/seasons that I'm contemplating are: 44, 3rd -- 54, 4th -- 55, 4th -- 66, 3rd -- 67, 4th.

Your thoughts? Thanks in advance!

I was checking the 2019 drawl reports and it looks like you are still a few years behind 44/3 season.
You would probably be able to draw any of the other hunts you listed but from what I have heard I would avoid 54 and 55.
The decision for me would be between 66/3 and 67/4.

Flip a coin between 66/67 and go. If you had experience in any of the particular units I’d say to go that direction.... all of the units listed have and probably will continue to be damn tough hunts for those looking for something on the mature end of the spectrum.

I have messed around a fair bit in 66. It’s probably in my opinion the best looking mule deer habitat in around.

I’m rolling the dice for 66 3 rd this year &’hoping, but only have 11 points. Ugh there.
I think 66 or 67 it’s a toss up there. Never hunted or scouted either one, so will go a week/10 days early to recon IF I draw.
Good Luck ? to you drawing !!
Jerry Gold ?? Ft Collins, Colorado

I’m rolling the dice for 66 3 rd this year &’hoping, but only have 11 points. Ugh there.