Archery Desert Lope Adventure

elks96

Long Time Member
Last year was my fist year with a WY lope tag in hand. The hunt was the cash in of 13 nonresident points. With the season structure I began hunting on Aug. 15th and held out until the very end of the season killing my lope at last light on the last day, October 31st. Reflecting on that hunt it was a blast but also turned into a monotonous grind. Bucks all started to look the same, etc. After looking for a truly exceptional buck I shot the biggest one I could see at last light.

This year as a resident I drew the same area. Scouting showed up a few of the same bucks from last year. But I really did not scout much at all. Sunday the 15th th3 season opened. I had a new water hole I found with massive amounts of action. I was stuck at home for the opener (yard work).

So the second weekend arrived. On Thursday night we loaded the new to us camper up for our first trip out. (I will pause to say, this... For the last 20 years I have slept on the ground, in the truck bed under the stars, in the back seat of my truck, etc.) Have a camper is insanely nice...
red sun.jpg

Of course this last week the rains finally came. When we arrived to the unit the road in was muddy, there were puddles all over. The awesome water hole was not so awesome. We set up camp and took a trip to pull our trail camera cards. It was a sad state of affairs. The deer in the area have absolutely tanked. Numbers all way down, mature bucks nonexistent etc. In all we had no great bucks on camera and only a couple legal bucks.
hit list.jpg