Archery release help

Grayson Everett

I need help.

I'm 18 and have been hunting since I was 12, but I've always hunted archery with a crossbow, I'm a lanky guy and wasn't that strong as a kid so my dad got me a crossbow because I couldn't pull a compound back yet. well this year its my first year with a compound ever. archery season starts tomorrow and I tried shooting today and i just cant get the bow back with the release. I can get it back easily with fingers though.

I was wondering can I finger shoot this bow and kill a deer with it?
and also, do I nock the arrow below or above the nock ring. I've read you can do it either way but I feel more comfortable nocking it above.

You can shoot fingers but you may need to change your rest. Fingers put pressure on the arrow you don't get with a release. Having said that, I recommend you stick with the release. Like Vert said, get a string loop, there are lots of advantages to this. Can you back the limbs off and lower the pull weight? It is easy to do, just turn the limb screws the same amount of turns. It is a special set of muscles that you use when you draw a bow. They do not take long to develop and they seem stay with you once you have them. Get the draw weight down to where you can shoot comfortably. Work on good form and a repeatable anchor point. As you get stronger you can slowly raise the bow weight. You have plenty of time to build the muscles you need before this hunting season. Good Luck

Like others have said get a d-loop and probably start with a wrist release, however I have heard of fellas using a finger release because it felt easier to get the draw weight to full draw.

either way don’t worry bout accuracy at this point, turn your bow down and ( blank bale). Shoot at a target 10 yards. No bullseye. Focus on a consistent anchor point and imagine your body at a perfect Letter T - form. PM me if you would like and I would be happy to help . Good luck.