Area 7 Elk Hunt

brdhuntr

I have enough points to draw area 7, and is there enough accesable public land to hunt. I know it is a large unit, and there is a lot of private. Thanks for any feed back.

I believe you are better served having at least a smaller ranch or two to hunt, especially using all those points. I wouldn't personally hunt it as an out of stater without that. I've hunted it 3 years in a row when I was a Wyoming resident and took my biggest bull there, a 347.

I believe you are better served having at least a smaller ranch or two to hunt, especially using all those points. I wouldn't personally hunt it as an out of stater without that. I've hunted it 3 years in a row when I was a Wyoming resident and took my biggest bull there, a 347.
Thanks Heart, do you know anyone i can contact, i will pay any reasonable trespass fee. Thanks

No you got to do it the old fashioned way. Check map apps and get the owners names, call the county, call area game warden, call the blm range manager, call the area biologist, call regional fish and game office and talk to the clerks that take the calls. Call the local bars, restaurants, and feed stores. It was easier for me when I lived in Cheyenne. Just took half a week two separate times and went door to door and got 3 prospects but only hunted one of them but my contact is dead now...God rest his soul...good man!!!

Area 7 is getting tougher. Be sure to get access before you have the license. Lots of elk; above herd objective. But getting to them is often a real problem.

If you find a decent spot, it is still possible to take a great bull. The bulls are there but access is the key.