Blackhorn #209 vs Tripple 7

Elkextreme1

I’ve been using BH 209 for years, unable to find any. Thinking about using Tripple 7. What difference should I see between the two? Can I still use CCI 209 primers?
thanks in advance.

I’m no expert on anything but I’ve shot Triple 7 for many many years , I’ve used federal 209s , CCI 209s , and Winchester 209s and haven’t noticed a difference. I’m picky on accuracy and shoot loose powder charges but the primer has never seemed to make a difference.

The triple 7 primers seem to have a slower ignition than the other hotter primers designed for other purposes. With the triple 7 pellets I never noticed a difference on any primers that I used. But if I used the triple 7 primers on BH209, they would hang fire 3/4 times. I know that’s not your question, but might be helpful at some point down the road.

Western powder was bought out by Hodgdon. They haven't been shipping any Blackhorn 209 for several months. Should begin shipping again at the end of this month. deerkiller is right, you need a hot primer for 209. 777 not as hard to ignite.

I’ve been using BH 209 for years, unable to find any. Thinking about using Tripple 7. What difference should I see between the two? Can I still use CCI 209 primers?
thanks in advance.
Where are you located (generally)?
I saw some in a shop locally a couple days ago.

Zeke

777 is accurate and easy to clean with water based cleaners

That said, do a search for “777 crud ring”. If you use standard or magnum 209 primers for 777 it will cause fouling to build up faster and cause a ring of buildup where the bullet sits. You will have to clean between every shot and sometimes the fouling is so bad your cleaning rod can get stuck. I have had to get pliers to free it. That can be countered by making very short and fast strokes when you start getting resistance

They make primers specifically for 777 that are reduced in power: Triple 7 primers is one brand. Kleanbore is another.