Breech plug cleaning

3TOE

Very Active Member
Just curious to know if anyone has found either a great product or method for cleaning the breech plug on a muzzleloader? I have been hunting with muzzleloaders for 30 years now. The newer guns with the removable breech plug are a pain to clean IMO. I spend as much or more time cleaning the plug as I do the barrel & rest of the gun. I shoot Blackhorn 209 & use their solvent / cleaner. It obviously works, but there is a considerable amount of time spent removing ALL of the fouling from the powder. If you have any tips or tricks, please share. Thanks!

Probably not the best idea but who knows…..

I boil water in microwave and soak breech plug in the boiling water while I clean the barrel. The. I replace the water with Hoppers for another 4-5 min while I clean the bolt.

When I am done with the bolt I move to the breech plug and it cleans up pretty easy for me. No hardcore scrubbing…just a wipe off.

I then soak it again in boiling water from microwave for 3-4 minutes and blow it off with compressed air to remove any leftover water. That has always worked for me and Is not that hard.

Probably not the best idea but who knows…..

I boil water in microwave and soak breech plug in the boiling water while I clean the barrel. The. I replace the water with Hoppers for another 4-5 min while I clean the bolt.

When I am done with the bolt I move to the breech plug and it cleans up pretty easy for me. No hardcore scrubbing…just a wipe off.

I then soak it again in boiling water from microwave for 3-4 minutes and blow it off with compressed air to remove any leftover water. That has always worked for me and Is not that hard.
I’m willing to try anything. I have been soaking the breech plug in Blackhorn solvent for 15 minutes or so then going to work. I spend 30-45 minutes cleaning the plug alone. Thanks for the response.