Bullet help

deerkiller

Very Active Member
I have zero experience with Africa animals and need some advice.

I’m going to Africa in July 2021 on a 10 day hunt. Although I am a bowhunter, I’m leaving it home this trip and just taking my rifle. I’m planning on taking a .300 win. The animals I’ll be hunting with be in a range from impala to kudu. I image kudu are somewhat close to a bull elk as far as toughness goes, but im just assuming here. So my question is, what bullet is “best” for these animals. I’ve used the 200 gr hornady eldx on elk and they produce decent results. Is this going to be a sufficient bullets for these types of animals? Do I need heavier? or something completely different. Should I be taking my .338 instead?

it probably doesn’t matter than much and I’m thinking too much into this, but given this is my first and probably last trip to Africa, I want to make sure I'm as prepared as I can be.

thanks for any advice or suggestions!

I've never hunted Africa but based on what I've read and seen on "TV", you probably want a bullet construction that will pass thru easily. Would make tracking much easier. Monolithic would be my choice in 165 grain.

I’ve been on six safaris to five different countries and #7 is booked for 2021. Here are my thoughts...

Your 300 Winchester will be perfect for a plains game hunt, but then so would your 338. I’d take whichever you shoot better. As for Bullets, I highly recommend Barnes TTSX in 180 grains Or even 165 if they shoot better in your rifle. Shots are generally not long, most are 50-150 yards. Nosler Partitions or Accubond are also excellent. I’m not a fan of the bullet you mentioned but that’s personal preference.