Bushnell or Nikon Scopes?

Ropinfool

Very Active Member
LAST EDITED ON Nov-20-06 AT 12:38PM (MST)[p]I wanting to buy a new scope for one of my rifles and don't want to spend a ton. Which are the best scopes for the money? Bushnell Legend or Nikon Prostaff?? or any other suggestions.

LAST EDITED ON Nov-20-06 AT 12:44PM (MST)[p]Leupold vari x II's are good and usually affordable. Don't waste your money on bushnell.

It's a remington model 600 in a .243 so I need something kind of small. I'm kind of leaning toward a Nikon 2-7 but have never had one. I see that they have a lifetime warrenty though.

I have been using Nikon for over 20 years, very good preformance and no problems. I use the Monarch line which is their top of the line model.

RELH

If you do go Bushnell I wouldn't buy anything short of the Elite series, but I'm with Zigga on this one, go Leupold!

It's always an adventure!!!

Bushnell 4200 Elite w/Rainguard. I own two of these scopes and my father and Brother-in-laws do as well, GREAT SCOPES!!!!

Good luck

The rifle was given to my grandfather back in the 60's and has a bushnell 4x scope on it. The rifle lived in his ranch pickup and has taken a beating for a lot of years. That old bushnell scope has held up pretty well. Guess if they still make them like that then I don't mind having another one. The main thing I want is a variable power scope.

I have one of all 3 mentioned in the post the Nikon is good the Leopold is great the Bushnell I'm replacing after a year it has terrible light gathering ability compared to the others.

My brother inlaw bought a Nikon in '94 and he's on his 3rd replacement and not due to abuse at all. I don't know if that's typical but I'd stay with Leupold for sure. Swarovski if you can afford it.