COLORADO - AREA 54

B

bob (Guest)

I am new to elk hunting but have spent my whole life hunting whitetail in the flat land. I will be hunting area 54 next week end. How is the terrain in 54 and are there any general areas i should focus on? What is the best method to use to find a shootable elk? Any general info would be appreciated.

Bob

LAST EDITED ON Oct-06-03 AT 12:24PM (MST)[p]I'm afraid you won't get many replies to such a post. Posting right before the hunt with what seems to be no knowledge of the area at all will not attract anyone to help. I don't have any personal knowledge of area 54, so couldn't help you if I wanted to. If you really want some replies, log on and go to the elk section. Do some research about where you will be hunting and get some names of places you may be hunting. In other words: "I will hunting XYZ mountain area in area 54 and have heard the Bear creek and Dry gulch are good areas for elk." will get you a better chance of a response. Also, if you register and give your email address, you are more likely to get info. People are more likely to send private messages than post on an open forum. Would you post a favorite hunting area on a public forum?