Colorado Unit 35/361

Cohunter22

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the forum, but just wanted to say hello and ask one straight forward question if I may. I am a Colorado resident and have been hunting unit 15 for a few years with no luck but this year I decided to try a different unit.
My group of 3 all had 1 point so I think we have a good chance of drawing a 3rd season rifle tag in unit 35. I was looking at the Pisgah Mountain area along the river for a camp site then hiking down the ridges towards the river to get away from the crowds, hopefully. My question is, can you get a truck up those roads in that area to the top pleatueau of Pisgah mtn or is it pretty much impassable with anything but an ATV or on foot? I fully intend to scout the area well before the season but wanted to see what information I could get on here. The access looks kinda rough form what I can see either way. Anyways, thanks ahead of time for the responses. Best of luck to everyone this year!

I picked up a 3rd rifle tag last year off the leftover list and hunted the opening weekend as kind of a last minute hail mary trip. I spent 3 days in the unit and can honestly say I was not that impressed. It kind of felt like i was hunting in utah with all the Utah guys running all over the place. There were some big bucks killed and I saw a couple good bucks but there are truly people everywhere and I found access to be difficult as people have highlighted on here in the past.

If you have the whole season to hunt and are willing to grind it out i'm sure you can turn something up but just be ready for a tough hunt with a lot of pressure.