Coyote hunting tips

TroutJunkie

I've been calling coyotes on and off for 5 years or more now and I've killed probably only half a dozen dogs. I like to think I have the basics down such as. Pay attention to wind, sit in shade, don't skyline yourself, glass after calling for held up dogs, HIDE THE TRUCK, be patient while calling sit for upwards of 30 min in open stands, ETC. I have used hand calls but I have recently been trying an e-caller I will try rabbit distress mainly with pauses every few minutes. But i'm wondering if anyone would mind sparing any game changing tips or something they have noticed greatly increases their chances. I am concentrating in central/western Utah do you think it the area im calling or maybe my calling sequence. if anyone is willing to share with me any general areas that they have consistently seen coyotes or even a spot they have heard about please PM me. Thank you!

I've recently started using howls which I didn't used to do and it has helped bring in yotes especially in February and March.

After sitting down, and before I make a sound, I glass the area thoroughly. I am looking for any coyote that has seen me get into position.

If I see one that I think has seen me, I will not call. I do not want him to associate me (human) with a prey distress sound. Once that coyote is out of sight, I'll wait a few minutes, then start to call.

My calling sequence is about 20 seconds of calling, then I'm quiet for 2-5 minutes. Repeat 3-4 times.

At the end of a stand, before I stand up, I always glass around. Many times I have seen coyotes coming in while they were 500+yds out.

Coyote vocals can be very effective, especially in Jan-April.

I believe that coyotes know the voices of every coyote they can hear, so when a 'new' coyote voice is heard, especially if you are in or near a territory boundary, they come to investigate.