Deer proposal

bragabit

I have been kicking around an idea in my head for a few years and wanted to see what you all thought.
What if the DWR offered a hunt with a Muzzleloader or bow about the 10th of November on each general season unit. The tags would have to be very restricted maybe 5 to 10. They would be drawn as limited entry. It would help move people through the system a little quicker. It would make the draw odds on the limited entry units better. Some of the hunts would probably have pretty decent odds. You wouldn't have to wait 10 plus years to draw a limited entry deer hunt. Just an idea.

That's not a bad idea brag. My wife has 11 points, so I figure it could take her 15 years to be a lock for the Henery's rifle tag. I'll probably be in a wheelchair by then.

I like it but I think 3 tags per unit and use any weapon. Why not. Many more of us might actually get a few good hunts in our lifetime.

They could alternate weapons on different units. They could even alternate weapons from year to year. I certainly would rather hunt my home unit during the rut, rather than hunt a LE unit across the state.

I like the archery/muzzleloader idea. But I would take it a step further and make it "primitive" weapon as far as muzzleloaders go. More like Idaho's rules (loose powder, open sights, solid lead bullets).

That would give the deer a better chance when they are most vulnerable and allow for more tags... pushing more people through the system. But most of us could still use the smokepoles we already have for normal LE tags. We would just have to put on a peep sight and work up a "primitive" load.

Great Idea!
Grizzly