Don't waste your time with Cali this year...

mulebuck

Just wondering if you guys have seen the new June Huntin' Tool yet? Ol' Jason Carter really tops himself in his 'The way I see it' write-up. Now I know Cali isn't the best in the West but damn, someone please ask Jason to ease up with the choke out on our state.
If you haven't seen it, or don't get the mag I'll be happy to quote his words of wisdom upon request.

Initially when reading the article I was pleased with his negativity towards Cali. The less attention the better for us residents, right? Well then I remembered our state is broke and needs all the help it can get. I'm sure there will be even fewer non-residents applying this year thanks to his comments.

Always remember: "CA doesn't have giant deer so there again, why apply?".... oh and that's just 'generally speaking' by the way. What an ass!

On a positive note, I did enjoy the G3 buck and bighorn sheep articles. Congrats to those lucky hunters!

I've been a resident for over 50 years & have max points for all but deer.If I was a non-resident I wouldn't waste my money on California because of crappy draw odds on elk & sheep.We have great blacktails but not much else worth the long odds.His statement was pretty accurate!
David

"Generally speaking..." is a pretty general term. That's like a bail out phrase. Most of the deer in Cali has some blacktail in it so we are not known as a mule deer state. I'm assuming Garth Carter focuses mainly on the mule deer. So, by him saying we don't have big deer he's probably meaning mule deer. We are a blacktail state and if a non-res wants to shoot a blacktail, I think we're the state they'd come to.

Steve