Duplex Scope for Rangefinding

C

Cowboy

I am curious if anybody here has experimented with using the span of the fine cross hairs to judge distance.

I played a little last weekend with my scope, and have come up with if the scope is set on 9X the fine wires measure 6.25 inches long at 100 yards and 25 inches long at 400 yards.

What this tells me is an elk with a chest that is smaller than the fine wire length is over 400 yards. I can also use fine wire length to judge bullet drop. Half the fine wire length is about the holdover at 400 yards for my load.

So far everything is checking out. Anybody have any notes to compare with this?

Cowboy;

I have been using this system for over 20 years with my 25-06 deer-antelope rifle. I have a Nikon Monarch 3X9 scope. If I put the center of the cross hairs,at 9 power, on the top of the back of a muley deer, and his brisket hits the Vertical wire where the thick part turns to fine wire, he is 400 yards away. If his chest is smaller, he is over 400 yards. If his chest is larger then the above span, he is under 400 and I use the cross hair as my aiming point since I sight in at 3" high at 100 yards.
I have found that if the animal is at 400 yards, the top of the thick vertical wire,where it meets the fine wire, is dead on for a 400 yard shot.
Just remember to use this at the 9 power setting, because if you leave your scope at a lower setting, you will end up misjudging the range and shoot over the deer.
If a guy is willing to practice enought, most scopes can be used for judging the distance out to the range of 600 yards.