Elk Fork on North Fork of Shoshone for Deer

Saevango

Hoping someone can give me general information. I have an Area F mule deer license. We have always hunted the South Fork of the Shoshone and are thinking of trying a new area. We are looking at the Elk Fork area. We are DIY hunters and hike in, not afraid of a hard or long hike. We will arriving on Oct 24. Is this area huntable? Does it receive high hunter numbers? Are there any Deer. Not looking for trophy but the last couple times on the South Fork there where very few deer.

I have been hunting on a region F deer tag several times.
I haven't found any where in the region that holds lots of deer.
But if you get there and the timing and weather all line up, a good bunch of bucks will migrate through many areas across F.
I am a non resident, so only non wilderness area experience.
But even the wilderness areas are very low population of deer 90% of the hunting seasons for an F tag.
Seems I have seen less deer there every year I go.
But it's a relatively easy tag to draw and you just never know.....
A big buck or two gets taken there occasionally.
As of yet I haven't been able to find a real good one yet. But I try every chance I can afford to go.

Elks fork is a pretty popular place. Busy trail head.. most likely a few cow hunters will be in the area. Genrally monsters dont get taken in the area. Need a good snow to push them into moving mode. I personally have never tried that drainiage for muleys but had a solid 160 class buck run out in front of the horses a few years ago.. lot of open country to glass. You wont see a deer around every tree thats for sure. I wont lie it will be a tough hunt. 10 miles in what most call the meadows is a outfitter camp. Im sure they pack up camp after the 21st when elk season closes. Its not like it was 20 years ago.