Field Judging Antelope

woodruffhunter

Long Time Member
My dad has an antelope tag for Rich County. Being that this area is in my back yard, I will have many opportunities to scout.

However, I have no experience whatsover in field judging them. Can anyone give me some advice?

Also, can any of you post pic's of antelope that have made the minimum requirements to book in B&C.

As always, your help is appreciated.

Jason

Congrads to your dad on the antelope tag. I've been hunting antelope since I was old enough to hold up a bow or rifle. Every time I seem to think I have antelope field judging down to a "T" I walk up to a buck and get the dreaded ground shrinkage.

Next to mtn goats, where 1/2" can make or break a score, I believe antelope are one of the toughest North Amer critters to judge. One thing I can almost guarantee is that if a buck doesn't have good mass he will not score well! There are a total of 8 mass measurements in the B&C score, 2 horn length, and 2 prong length. Usually if any of these measurements are lacking the buck you are looking at will likely not make B&C.

Each particular state and area "generally" produces a particular horn confirmation. A particular year's horn growth can depend a lot upon winter/early spring moisture but for the most part some parts of the country produce B&C bucks each year while others will never produce that quality of bucks. Some areas produce massive horns and long prongs while another area may produce skinny 16"+ horns.

Since you live in the area you'll be hunting you are one step ahead of most guys. Get out and look over as many bucks as you can find. Once you've looked at 50 to 100 bucks you'll know when you see a buck that stands out...compared to the rest in your area! If you have any doubt the buck you are interested in will not make B&C..keep looking! When you see a big'un it will make your eyes bulge and your trigger finger throb!