Filling my first elk tag

Bhilly81

This year I have set myself a goal to fill my first ever elk tag. I have hunted them a few times in the past with over the counter archery and I tried once for the rifle hunt. I am in my last year of the dedicated program and I can also harvest a deer as well but I am going to see if I can pick up a multi season elk tag and focus on that this year but if a deer steps out I will not hesitate to fill that tag as well. With this being said is there any tips or pointers that anybody would like to share or recommend to aid me in my quest or goals?? Still super new to elk hunting but I am willing to learn and try to get it figured out as best I can. I do know some areas up strawberry that hold some elk but it also seems to hold cattle and sheep as well. Plus that is not where my deer tag is good for either. Thanks for any thoughts and input.

I'm sure it's Utah

I'd concentrate in your Deer unit if it's doable for elk too.

Why be DH and not harvest your last year/deer?

Good luck whatever ya decide

Robb

Yes it’s Utah. I will have plenty more opportunity to harvest my deer this year. Especially with the extended archery season. I’m just mostly going to focus on elk more than anything if I can. That’s just my number one goal.

Are you wanting to continue archery hunting or are you switching to rifle? If archery, learn to call and bugle, it will help increase your success.

Last edited:
Elk hunting is tough! that's why i'm a monster muley fanatic.
get in the thickest nastiest steepest terrain and there is where the elk are. sorry , i'm probably not being that helpful... i've only shot three elk in about 10 years of trying . Maybe some of the good elk hunters on here can share some tips with us. good luck in your quest.