Good age to start young hunters?

B

BugleminToday

Just curious but what do you think is a good age to start a young hunter? I am not talking about them coming out on hunting trips as watchers but as actually being the shooter.

Justin

- Long-Range, The next best thing to being there !!!!

I started shooting squirrels at age 8, and deer at 10. I feel they should start shooting anywhere after age 5 and before age 10. It also may depend on what your states laws are on age limits. I feel the earlier, the better.

It's Bush's fault!!!

My kids are seven, five, two and one month. My oldest started shooting at four with his bb gun. At five he's shot a 410, now that hes almost eight, he shoots the 204 and handles it pretty good. I'm building him up to the larger calibers slowly. When he proves to me that hes ready to hunt animals I will enroll him into hunter saftey class and after he passes, I'll take him out for his first hunt. What decides his priviledge will be his maturity towards hunting. The same will go with all my kids. Only when they are ready. I'll guide them but won't force them into it.

Clyde

My son is 8 and is starting to hunt this year. He's been tagging along for a few years now and is a great shooter. He just got a 20 gauge shotgun for Christmas and will be taking his Hunter's Safety shooting test tomorrow. I've been doing the online hunter's safety course with him and I'm impressed with his knowledge. His maturity level is there too and he is a very responsible kid. I'm with MrClyde...maturity level is important in deciding if it's time to start hunting or not. He's a great shooter too. He won a .22 in the kids draw at the NWTF banquet so he's been shooting that for a while now as well as his BB gun.