Gotta Get a Goat, Help!

Daxter

Very Active Member
I have this crazy desire to get a goat. I am somewhat obsessed sice I hiked into a herd of goats last summer in northern Idaho. It was a really neat experience to me, and made a big impact on me. Since then I can't think about anything but going back to find the goats again. I would love a hunt in BC or Alaska, but I am a poor college student and so I think that it is going to have to be in the lower 48. The $1500 I will end up paying for a non-res tag is about my limit. I am going to start applying now, and I hope that within 10 years or so I will draw a tag somewhere. I am a UT res, so I am going to start applying here, I was also thinking Montana, Wyoming, Idaho, and maybe Colorado. Are there any other states that I should consider, and can anybody reccomend good regions in any state for drawing odds? I am not looking for a record bood goat or anything, I mainly just want the experience of the hunt. Thanks for any advice you can give me.
Daxter

Daxter,

Try Wyoming. They have a lot of areas that go under subscribed. Shoot me an e-mail and I'll try to help you out. I've been there 2 year snow and tagged out both times. I'll share with you what I know!

[email protected]

Scott G.

PW - I think he is talking about a mountain goat, not a speedgoat. My understanding is that a WY nonresident mountain goat tag is a once in a lifetime draw. I just checked the demand index for WY and in 2002 there were 4 nonresident tags issued in two areas. There were a total of 249 applicants for those four tags. The best draw odds were in area 001 @ 2.07%. WY does not offer preference points for Mountain Goat.

Daxter - You can order the 2003 WY proclamation from their website - http://gf.state.wy.us/HTML/hunting/huntinfo.htm

Good luck in your quest for a goat.