Hardcore boots

C

coonhound40

LAST EDITED ON Mar-08-08 AT 06:46PM (MST)[p]LAST EDITED ON Mar-08-08 AT 06:36?PM (MST)

I've been using the Meindl Mountain hunters for a few years and loved them but they recently changed the design and I hate the new tongue, it really bites the top of your foot.

I thought I might try the Lowa Sheep hunters or the Meindl Alaska hunters but I also ran across these? The Scarpa Liskamm, they are a great looking boot about the same price as the Lowa, anyone ever use them?

http://www.moosejaw.com/moosejaw/pr...earchResults&pf_id=10033351&spoffset=2&s_id=0
47d334cc6c347848.jpg

I'd appreciate some detailed feedback,
Coon

Coon, just in case you missed it, here is my post from the other forum.

Absolutely, in fact I have a picture of that Scarpa boot on my site from the Outdoor Retailer show in January. Great boot! The Lowa, Scarpa and Meindl boots you are considering are all top notch boots from top notch makers. It is going to have to boil down to fit and height for you. At that level it is all about fitting your feet. I own all three and they are all fantastic. Personally, the Meindl sole feels a little hard to me, the Lowa is a 10 inch version of the Tibet GTX which is what I have, I prefer 8 inchers. If I had to pick between the three, I guess I would lean towards the Scarpa.
Again, you need to find a good mountaineering shop and put them all on but don't make the mistake of getting them too small.

Good luck, please let me know what you end up getting.

Wade
www.hardcoreoutdoor.com

Take a look at the Kenetrek boots before you jump. They are awesome with next to no break in.

Take mtngoat's advise. I have had them all and Kenetrek out of the box is by far the best. You'll love them! You will never go to another boot once you try them. Good Luck!

Well you convinced me. I ordered a pair of Kenetrek Hardscabble Hikers for my upcoming boot article. I am looking forward to seeing how they do. Thanks for the recommendation.

Wade