High Country Deer- 0 PP

crimsonkiller318

How's it going guys. Been lurking around and decided to join. This will be my first post. I'm looking to get into mule deer hunting. I specifically want to target a good say 160 plus high country above tree line buck, although a mature buck of any caliber is always considered a trophy to me. I am wanting to backpack in and spike camp for 8-10 days. I am 22 years old. I'm in good shape and will be training all this year. I have some experience hunting elk and pronghorn and a ton of experience hunting southern whitetail. I will be taking off of school next fall to study for the lsat so this will give me plenty of time to plan. As I said this will be my first time to hunt mule deer so I have zero preference points. Im wanting to go on first archery so I figure this should help my chances. Might be open to ML. It would be great if some of you more experienced guys could suggest some wilderness units with potential. No honey holes, just unit suggestions. I am a bit overwhelmed. Any advice is much appreciated. Thanks in advance guys. Happy hunting.

welcome, go to toprut.com or CO parks and wildlife page-big game and then click on statistics, you can see the points required for each unit there. That will show you what options you have for zero points and alpine archery hunts.

Mntman

"Hunting is where you prove yourself"