How do I prevent optics fogging up

B

BuckBunger

Hey Everyone,

Are there any tricks to prevent scopes and binoculars from fogging up in cold temps in the field? I do what I can to exhale my breaths away from lenses but it seems that having my face up to the reticle is all it takes to fog up a previously clear lens.

Sometimes the fog is inside the optics yet seems to come and go. Are there any rules of thumb regarding this problem?

I've attached a photo of myself and my nephew hunting in perfect fogging weather. You also have to check out the muley effigy my wife made for me using koban bandage wrap in various colors and other supplies found around her medical lab. It's a little 2-point...and that's what I got this year. Next year, I'll get her to make one representing a big 'ol mossy back 4-pointer. I'm generally not superstitious but I why tempt the fates...

Okay I'm a little new at this. Hope they show now...
--BuckBunger

41be27501e726662.jpg

41be277b1ebbacad.jpg

If you have fogging INSIDE your binocs, they are either a model that is not fog proof (usually inexpensive models), or they have been dropped one too many times and have lost the fogproof ability. Either way, sounds like you need a new pair or send these back to the manufacturer and see what they can do (if they are a more expensive pair).

Everyone breathes on them from time to time, and it is usually right after you see the "big-un" and are breathing excitedly! Don't know anything you can do about that. However, the rule of thumb for fogging is to leave all rifle scopes/binocs outside your tent/cabin so they don't get warm at night, because when you take warm optics outside, they will fog. I leave mine in a seperate tent or in my pickup so they maintain the outside tempurature.