I need your help...

King_B

Hi all!
I am new to MonsterMuleys, but not new to hunting. I have hunted Utah my whole life, but want to get out and expand my opportunities for mule deer. I have been hunting a few times with my brother in Wyoming, but can't even remember the areas.

Not that you all want more NRs in the mountians, but I would love any help just understanding how the application and draw process work. I have been reading some threads here and kindof have figured some things out, but any informtaion to help me get familiar with the process and how Wyoming works would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

What is a "special" hunt?
Are the numbered units sub-units of the lettered unit?
For example: If I get an H tag, what are the "micro-areas" with numbers inside the H unit?

Help would be great. Thank you

I think 20% to 40% of nonresident deer elk and antelope tags are included as special hunts, they are the same hunt only they cost more, supposedly that gives those that pay more money a better chance to draw. Micro areas usually (not always) have different opening and or closing dates, they are smaller areas within a general unit, and are designated that way in order to be managed according to their separate needs.

Thanks piper! That helps. So what are the premier hunts labeled as? Are they numbers, letters, or text names? So, for example, say I were to get an H tag. Would I be able to hunt every micro-unit within the H boundary according to it's respective hunt dates and regulations?

King,
Not trying to be a smart arse by any means. However, you have lots of good questions that are answered in the Wyoming hunting regs - and some that you probably haven't thought of. You can download the regs from the Wyoming G&F website. Lots of interesting stuff in there that will help you and might speed up your process. Good Luck. Chip