Ibex

LAST EDITED ON Apr-22-18 AT 07:59PM (MST)[p]I drew my oil tag this year ibex 2018. I am on cloud nine been putting in for about 8 years now. The lord above was looking out for me with the draw this year. Iv never been to the Florida?s so not sure what to expect. I hear the rock is vicious. Iv been watching YouTube vids of hunts nonstop since the draw lol. I'll be making a couple trips down this summer to scout and learn what's a good billy and what's a great billy. Any advice is appreciated as I have no experience with ibex. Iv always been a archery elk and deer hunter. Got some nice elk out of the Gila . But ibex is a whole different ball game. I'll be shooting a savage 110 hs persision in 300 win mag topped with a nightforce 5x22.5 .

I drew the late archery ibex tag this year on my second try. Anyone have any stories and advise they can give.

I know two of my friends kids that drew the youth Billy hunts.

Advice for that mountain.
1) get good leather gloves, you are going to fall
2) a pack that you can put your rifle in, you need your hands because you are going to fall
3) A walking stick helps because you are going to fall.
4)Good optics, find a Billy you want to harvest before you start to climb.
5) Glass in places you never dream an animal would be, they ain't like hunting deer, they will walk straight up cliffs you cant imagine an animal would go on.
6) Good range finder with angle compensation and be able to shoot 400-500 yards. Shots with 30-40-50% grades are not uncommon. you can get closer but being able to shoot at distance will help a lot.
7) Don't pull the trigger unless you can get to the spot the Ibex is at. Really think about this, Ibex are lost every year because they get shot in places they cant be recovered.