Idaho Gun Laws

CouesFanatic

I wanted to get a pistol to carry while out in lion and grizz country but I am a resident of Arizona. Can I buy a pistol as a nonresident living here currently for school?

As long as you are not a convicted felon you can purchase a hand gun and take it hunting with you. To be honest with you it's a pretty good idea. I carry a 357 when I am elk hunting, to many stories of hunters becoming the bears main course while cleaning there game. Just make sure it is in easy access when your hunting.

and also like with any gun, rifle or pistol, you must carry a hunting license while in field

Calgaryflames that is not true.
I was told after running into some NR hunting here in Idaho where several people in the group had tags and there was 5 people carrying rifles. I got ahold of F&G about it and they told me there was nothing they could do because as a US citizen you have the right to bear arms. With or without a hunting license for Idaho.

Your right Siding man. You can carry a weapon as long as it's in the open and not concelled and your not a convicted felon. I came accross you last year in Walmart in Jerome do you remember. I am from Twin but living in Kentucky.

i thought so, at least thats how i was brought up with hunting with all my family, Ron could you find it where it states it in the regs?

Sounds like the original question was whether you can buy the handgun in Idaho as a nonresident student. Out of my expertise, but I believe the answer is no. I think federal law only allows handgun purchases within your own state (been told must have an in-state driver's license). Don't think student status would grant you that priviledge. Might be easiest to ask at a local gun dealer.

SalmonFG,