Idaho legal lead

300winnie

I am new to the thought of hunting with a muzzleloader in Idaho (resident). I see different options out there, but in reading the regulations for a “muzzleloader only” hunt it seems that most are not legal. Other than a patched round ball or molding your own (which I’m not interested in doing) what commercial options are available that will keep the regulation enforcers happy. Do you have a preference amongst those choices.

Thank you in advance.

Any of the all-lead conicals are legal, as long as they are within .010" of bore diameter. The ones that are lead, but have a plastic tip (Federal Bor-Lock, Aero-Tip, etc) are NOT legal. A couple IDFG wardens have specifically told me that the tip is for the purpose of enhancing the bullet flight, and would write these up. There are several experienced hunters on here are who casting their own conicals, then paper patching for a good gas seal. That is not a sabot, and is legal to do. Look to No Excuses bullets, Harvester (385 gr), Power Belt in 295 or 348 lead. The 295 is too light for big game in most peoples opinion, and has numerous documented cases of lost elk.

I have been paper patching my own bullets for many years. In my opinion the paper patched bullets I make are so much better than factory bullets its not even fair to compare them. This is my 50 cal they weigh 458 grains

H1Jkg7v.jpg

This bullet is one I took out of my bull from last year.

V71Mr4N.jpg

9a42XIw.jpg

That bullet held together very well. These next bullets was a 410 gr Hornady flat point. This bullet was discontinued a few years ago.

xO4JRud.jpg

I almost lost the deer that I shot these with. In my opinion the Hornady bullets are garbage.

The next bullet I have to show is a power belt.

YHR9B0T.jpg