Is there public land hunting in Wyoming?

P

Pahunter106

Hello,
As I have stated from countless other posts, I am very new to the concept of hunting out west, and was wondering if there was public land hunting in Wyoming and if the prospects are good for a self guided bowhunt? Somewhere near Yellowstone or some other national park, would be ideal, but since I do not know the state very well, I wonder if this is even possible??? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I just read about a hunting trip near Yellowstone and the price made my wallet weak in the knees, let alone all the tipping you have to do to the cook, the guide and whomever else? I can tip the guide, but the cost of the trip, made it an impossibility for me to even consider. How easy is it to rent horses once in the state? Is the license there on a draw system as well?
thanks,
Scott

Region H has some good deer and elk hunting and is near Yellow Stone ,I got a moose in the area in 2002 and saw several deer while hunting the area.Lots of public land.

Lots of public land all over the state, just need to get some maps for the area you are interested in there.

Brian

Thanks guys,
I was curious about anyone who may have done a hunt there. I was hoping to do a do-it-yourself hunt with Archery equipment, but did not know, and frankly still don't, how I am supposed to get a tag? Is it a draw hunt? Are all of the western states draw type hunts? I was really hoping that if I could not find a cheaper way to go, in archery by camping along the trail, that I would do a rifle hunt.
I wanted to take my brother out there with me, at some point and it would be good to have one hunt under my belt, so that I could show him what I actually accomplished and get him stoked about getting in shape to do this. Even if I only took a cow!! Or the other option was for both of us to go out there at the same time, equally not knowing anything, and work it out among ourselves.