Link to bill that limits nonresident tags for 2022

I think the 90% of tags to residents and no non-res tags if less than 10 will get some discussion. As a resident, I don't support the authorizing of 30% of those 10% non-res tags holders to outfitters. Let those non-res decide if they want to hire an outfitter or not as is now. Those areas with high percentages of private land are already pretty much regulated like this anyways...pay to play.

License increases will fall for deer and elk will be near other states. It cost me that much to for a deer tag in Idaho and Colorado. Heck, Wyoming is cheap when compared to the Colorado app fee. Cost me a $90 small game stamp to apply for deer.

Last edited:
Heck, Wyoming is cheap when compared to the Colorado app fee. Cost me a $90 small game stamp to apply for deer.

depends on how you are looking at it I guess. If I apply for three species and get a point in Colorado (elk deer antelope) the cost is $82 plus $9 per species application fee. Total is $109. If I apply for those same species in Wyoming in addition to buying points the total is about $160 if I apply in the regular draw (2.5% fee for CC plus 51,41, and $31 for pp).

and to the OP, I don’t think this bill as worded is going anywhere. 90/10 splits are coming but I don’t think it’s going to be on this bill.

Non-residents do need to send some emails to legislators. They do listen to non-residents and a number of them are not fans of how the outfitters try to run everything when it comes to hunting.

I know outfitters like high license fee's too because it helps to reduce the number of people in the draw. Most people going on a guided hunt aren't worried about a few hundred extra dollars, regular people who can't pay $6k for an outfitter are, and more and more will drop out with increases.

We know where it's all headed, but the slower it gets there the better for some of us. Buy time, send emails to legislators if you want to save non-resident hunting opportunity.