Loading Issue

trophyhunter

Very Active Member
I have been loading for 50 years. I have an issue and looking for input. I purchased RCBS dies in .308. I adjusted the sizing die then went to the loading die, I have been trying to adjust the bullet depth. I tried three Winchester cases and here?s my problem. I ran a sized empty case perfectly into the die. As I insert a bullet into the case and push it up into the die. The bullet starts to go into the case and after about 1/4 inch into the case the entire nick of the case collapsed. These are new out of the bag never shot Winchester cases. Do you think I have defective cases are they to soft ? I haven't tried some once shot other cases yet. Been busy and haven't tried other cases yet. Anyone else had this issue?

))))???->

LAST EDITED ON Apr-16-19 AT 12:57PM (MST)[p]Sounds like you need to readjust your seating die. Seems like it's set to low and trying to maybe crimp. Did you run a sized piece of brass all the way up and adjust the seating die down to just touch the case then back the die up at least 1 complete turn? I also start with the seating stem backed out a ways.
Also how did you setup your sizing die?

>LAST EDITED ON Apr-16-19
>AT 12:57?PM (MST)

>
>Sounds like you need to readjust
>your seating die. Seems like
>it's set to low and
>trying to maybe crimp. Did
>you run a sized piece
>of brass all the way
>up and adjust the seating
>die down to just touch
>the case then back the
>die up at least 1
>complete turn? I also start
>with the seating stem backed
>out a ways.
>Also how did you setup your
>sizing die?

...what he said.....

497fc2397b939f19.jpg

Also your neck might not be getting sized properly. If the neck is too tight it will cause the same problem you are describing. Are you lubing your brass properly before sizing them? Chamfering the cases?