Moscow ID???

MichaelJ

Very Active Member
Hey guys I'm a new transfer student to the University of Idaho majoring in Rangeland Ecology and Management. Loving it here so far! I'm interested in getting out and scouting for any Muleys and/or elk around here so when I get my residency next fall I have a head start. Looking for GENERAL areas (IE: not honey holes, I love to scout) if you got any ideas I'd much appreciate it. Thanks!

Michael
"What I could do, I was doing, and that was simply putting my butt on the line for my country, the country that I loved, so that all the protestors and the academics and the liberal intelligentsia back home could enjoy the right to protest against people like me, the hated middleclass." --Gary R. Smith, US Special Forces

Congrats on attending a fine institution. Go Vandals!

Weren't you working on tanning hides a while ago?

As far as hunting you are in whitetail country. I don't think I ever saw a muley buck while I was up there. A few muley does around Elk River.

If you really want to hunt muleys you need to look at the controlled hunt in unit 11 which is south of Lewiston along the Snake River. Thats a good one. Open areas with good mule deer populations would be either way north or south by Riggins along the Salmon river breaks.

Don't overlook the whiteys in the Clearwater Natl forest. Elk-go east to Elk River and hunt around Dworschak. Bowhunting is really good there.

Have fun!

I spent my time at the U of I as well. Finished up with a Wildlife degree in 97.

I had lots of luck finding permission around there. Knock on some doors and you should get it. Not sure where your are from, but if your are not a "local" country boy, I would not advertize it when talking to the land owners.. Just make sure you close the gates you open, and don't drive accross the fields even if you think you can. Just walk. help them out if you see cows or down fence. You will be able to hunt there any time you want to. You know the drill.