Muzz/archery coinside in Wa?

R

RiverPig

Hey you muzzy's that hunt in Washington, was wondering if you have read anything on the proposed idea of running the early archery season with the muzzle season co-currantly? I guess they would start the season Oct. 1 thru the start of modern rifle. We would spit up the G.M.U's I guess ie; Archers in say the 352 and Muzzle in the 346 an an example.

My question to you is what you think of this idea?

This is only one idea of a few that they have in changing the early archery season in Wash. proposed in the future. If you want to see more, go to the Game Dept. site and go to "hunting" then to the "season setting for 2003-2005"

RiverPig, I think it's a great idea and I voted for it on the WDFW website survey. I've been hunting with a bow for 2 years and I would much rather hunt elk in October than September. September is too hot and usually most private timberland is closed due to fire danger. So archery hunters end up being concentrated on state land and National Forest. Muzzleloaders will benefit also because I think they will end up with a few more units.

I agree Bob,

I would welcome it too for the reasons you stated. Also it might chase the Elk around to our units from ones that are closed. Like, we hunt the 352 and 356. The 346 just across the 410 hwy. is closed, permit only. We go over there occasionally to look for Mulies and see tons of Elk of course!! If muzzy's had that unit I think that would help stir things up a bit, ya know. We archerers have it tough here in Wash. no peak rut, and they cram us into just a few units during the biggest holiday for campers and 4x4 clubs!! If I'm not mistaken the would run it from Oct. 1 thru the opener of rifle. Rifle opened on the 26 of Oct. that would mean a longer season right? bout time!!!! Maybe our success rate would go from 8% to a whopping 12%