NR points after becoming a resident

tmbr_hntr

Plan is to move to WY next June so I would be able to put in the resident draw for 2024. Right now I have 14 NR deer points. Probably not going to use them in 2023 because of other hunts with my son. So the question is could I enter the NR resident draw after I am a resident in 2024 and use the points? Or will they just disappear all together? It may seem like a stupid question to some, but using OR as an example(I know it's not the same because there are Res and NR points), a Res and a NR can put in together, but then the Res is in the NR draw pool. If they are just going to go away then I guess I should put in for something in June.

WyomingMark

Residents are prohibited from applying for non-resident licenses...

A person qualified as a Wyoming resident as defined in W.S. § 23-1-102 (a) (ix) and § 23-1-107, is not considered a nonresident for the purposes of applying for or purchasing licenses, permits, tags or preference points.

tmbr_hntr

Residents are prohibited from applying for non-resident licenses...

A person qualified as a Wyoming resident as defined in W.S. § 23-1-102 (a) (ix) and § 23-1-107, is not considered a nonresident for the purposes of applying for or purchasing licenses, permits, tags or preference points.

Thanks! I guess I will have to get off the pot and use them even if I don't end up using the tag.

DoubleDropMuley

Very Active Member
So what I’m thinking is if you move in June and want to hunt in 2024 as a resident you’d be too late to put in for the draws as deadline is May 31. So I would think you could apply as a nonres before May 31 of 2024 and if ya draw you could hunt on that tag? As ya wouldn’t be a res until after the app period? Not positive but I’d just use them in 2023 and leave no points behind

tmbr_hntr