Question

Killcarp2

So I'm not new to this site or elk hunting, but I did have to recently create a new account as I could no longer access my email. I am a Nevada resident but am looking to possibly put in out of state for an elk hunt. I have looked into Colorado and Idaho mainly, but I've never hunted in either state. I wanted to start a thread to get some opinions about the best state(or area) to try for a non res. Who knows maybe I'll meet somebody from another state who draws Nevada and we can tag along on each other?s hunts. Anyway, not sure if this will elicit responses but it's worth a shot.

Some questions to narrow your results.

#1 Are you looking at a onetime thing for next year, are starting a multiyear program to become a regular ?out of state? elk hunter ?

#2 Are you looking to ?fill the freezer? with tasty cows and young bulls, or dreaming of monster bulls ?

#3 Do you understand ?points? and the ?drawing game? ?

#4 Is your wife, family, boss and bank account ready for the insanity that follows ?

#1-for now looking for next year, but if it is a positive experience there is certainly potential for repeat events.

#2-I am not expecting monster bulls, I have been hunting elk long enough to know that in most states without knowing somebody or having deep pockets trophy hunts aren't happening. So I would say a bull hunt would be my primary focus but I would kill a cow also.

#3-I would say yes and no. Every state is a little different. I am looking for something that won't take forever to draw, or is pointy even otc. This is kind of what I am fishing for in this post. I am considering starting to put in for point sake in New Mexico, Utah, and possibly Arizona.