Raghorn, Junk Bull, Pisscutter?

slamdunk

Since I may be the one who first used the description "Junk Bull" in my Spike thread and it was an unpopular adjective, I figured we better chat about today's expectations on a 20+ year wait for an LE Elk tag.

My comment was used loosely and facetiously due to the nature of the topic in that thread.
All Bull Elk are beautiful animals and are a "Trophy" in someone's eyes regardless of a 4x4 or a 420 incher.

I stated it that way because in today's Elk Hunting world, anything under 350" seems to have a negative nickname.

I've been a professional guide for over 25 years and have worked on leases where a 5x5 makes one hunter just as elated as a 400 does on another.

Haven taken 400+" bulls with clients, as well as 250-300" bulls, I've seen and experienced both ends of the spectrum and love them all.

As for me with a tag in my hand?
It would depend on the Unit and area I'm hunting.
Of course I wouldn't give a second look at a 280" bull on a prime unit, but on an "Any Bull" open unit, I'll put him on the ground in a New York minute and be stoked with success.

On a prime LE unit in TODAY'S Utah Elk world, 350+ should be taken seriously.
Back in the 2005 era, 380's could be passed, but not today.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news ladies and gentlemen, but with more tags given on LE units to reduce age classes to 6.5, our sand has ran out of the hour glass for yesterday's giants.

Get em while there's still a few around for the next few years.

Personally, I think I am a fan of the new Elk Plan.....time will tell.

Last edited:
Ya!

It Ain't Getting Better!

LE Units Were Originally Set Up For Hunters Willing To Earn Points!

Take Their Turn at Eventually Having A Shot At A Trophy Bull!

If It Keeps Getting Managed The Way It's Been Managed From About 2009 To Present you Can Kiss The Chance At A Trophy Goodbye in the Near Future!

Utah Will Produce Trophy Bucks & Bulls Just About Anywhere in The State When Managed Properly!