Respectable Elk.

hiefnac

Plan on getting out west to hunt elk in the future. What would you consider to be a respectable size elk? And what goals are realistic?

>Plan on getting out west to
>hunt elk in the future.
>What would you consider to
>be a respectable size elk?
>And what goals are realistic?
>

This is my first year to hunt elk but my respectable elk that I am holding out for is the first legal one that comes in front of my stick and string!

Good luck hunting.

The question is a little vague to be honest. Are you going DIY, private or public land, state and area, limited draw, general, or OTC tag. etc.... BUT lets just say CO, second season, OTC, public land then harvesting a legal bull would be a realistic goal and an accomplishment for a first timer.

>Plan on getting out west to
>hunt elk in the future.
>What would you consider to
>be a respectable size elk?
>And what goals are realistic?
>

Respectable: Depends on your circle of friends; if none of them have killed an elk, your spike is going to look huge next to your 10 point!

Goals: Have fun & live in the moment! Elk are amazing creatures and you'll be blessed to see some your first time afield (unless you're guided on a ranch of course). Plan on making lots of memories, and don't put too much pressure on yourself to make it happen.

LAST EDITED ON Aug-05-16 AT 01:19PM (MST)[p]Some would say the best elk is the one closest to the truck! Usually the guy that just spent 2 days packing one on his back 5 miles from his truck! As others have said it depends on the unit/season, guided/diy. Know this, as sooner or later you will come to this conclusion, any elk is a good elk! Good luck!

LAST EDITED ON Aug-05-16 AT 01:20PM (MST)[p]^^^^^
Yep! What DW, hunt_the_west and UtahJimmy said.
That's all you need to know for now.

Best of luck to you,
Zeke