San Juan Deer Tag

sniper14

I would love to see some deer from this unit if anyone has any. I have no idea what I have gotten myself into with this tag.

You've drawn a wonderful tag and will have a great time down there. It is beautiful country and has some amazing bucks. PM me if you'd like.

That’s the limited entry deer tag I applied for, how many points did you draw with and are you nr or res?

That’s the limited entry deer tag I applied for, how many points did you draw with and are you nr or res?
I'm a resident. I drew the tag 30 years ago with my dad and the deer and the unit won the war. We had no idea how to hunt it as we could never find a place to get out and glass. We drove the roads for a few days with his job that's all the time he had off, and my dad ended up shooting a small 4 point and I ended up with a big two point. He is 75 and I'm going to drag him out there this year to see if we can get some redemption.

Here are a couple bucks my dad and his friend got last year.

D deer.jpg

de deer.jpg

P deer.jpg

That helps and explains alot.

Great bucks. Lately on elk hunts see 2 or 3 good ones, but not like 20 plus years ago.

Thanks for sharing the photos.

I and my son hunted it last year. He found some great bucks preseason. But we never could turn any of them up when season opened. They get pushed pretty hard archery muzzle loader. They move off in the thick sh.

If you want to see what is there, check out that unit in late summer, just before the archery hunt. The velvet bucks are really visible that time of year.
But rutnbuck is dead nuts about finding them during the rifle season. There is a ton of P-J country just off the top of Elk Ridge and it's a great place for big bucks to get lost!
Best of luck