Scouts and Shooting Sports

??I wonder if anyone is still mad that we decided to let girls join the scouts?

Bluehair
Splitting my time time between the winter and summer range......
May you live long enough to cash in those preference points. Amen

>??I wonder if anyone is still
>mad that we decided to
>let girls join the scouts?
>
>
>Bluehair
>Splitting my time time between the
>winter and summer range......
>May you live long enough to
>cash in those preference points.
>Amen

I am.

When you state "we let girls join the scouts"
Who is we.

Men.

Bluehair

There is a very positive side to this story. A lot of those scouts getting to shoot guns are American kids. A lot of them from larger cities where they have never been able to shoot like their rural area scouts.
They will have a tendency to become pro gun in their thinking and that helps our future generations to protect their firearm rights.
When I was a LEO and firearms instructor, we had what we called a "ladies day shoot" where we trained women on using handguns. It was free to them and they also could use their passing score to obtain a concealed carry license and many did. We always had a full class with no vacant spots due to the out turn of woman wanting to learn safe handling of handguns for self defense.
In fact I prefer to teach women as they do not have a "Macho" attitude of knowing everything and will listen to the instructions. A lot of them turned out to be darn good shooters that could outshoot their husbands or boyfriends.
RELH

I agree with you RELH, I think it's a good thing. I didn't realize the Scouts were that big in shooting, firing a million rounds in 10 days.

I'm not a Scout and have never been there but a lot of the females are Girl Scout Troops. With a few girls in the Boy Scout Troops.

This place belongs to the Scouts, it's 11,000 acres and they have spent $100,000,000 there.

I bet those 14 to 18 year boys don't have a problem with the girls being there.