unit 10 3rd..

JC

hi definately once in lifetime for me.....headed up to unit 10 for 3rd...just reaching out to anyone with good intel. I have some good pointers from a couple guys ....anybody going to be there when i am?? ..going solo so looking for someone that can have my back and vice a versa..? elk hunters? any good news on zone as well..Wish everyone well..keep safe..shoot straight. JC

I have no knowledge of Unit 10, however since it should be very good rut dates, some principles apply…. You’ll never get the tag again, so put in as much time and energy as you can to maximize the opportunity.

If it were me, I would get in the unit as many days before the season opens as possible (2-5 days) and drive every road in the unit that you can, and glass as many deer as you can, from one end of the unit to the other. Figure out the doe concentrations (the deer will likely be in pockets, and not evenly distributed). Come opening day, I’d be looking in the areas of concentration that you found during scouting, and glassing in the those areas from daylight until dark. Don’t sit in one place all day, but glass and move, and glass and move, all day long.

You’re looking for a big buck that drops his guard around the does at that time of year. The strategy is to look at as many deer as you possibly can. There’s a shooter or 3 in there somewhere.

Good luck

the gringo..yeah.. thanks for the advice...thats sorta the plan...thanks for piping in...seems very exciting

blake....going to miss you up there!! i need your inspiration!! lol...i would be laying in my bunk...hearing you fire up your machines and would think to myself...I SHOULD GET UP!! haha...thanks for the good wishes..

the gringo..yeah.. thanks for the advice...thats sorta the plan...thanks for piping in...seems very exciting
I’d be pretty excited! I’ll be there 3rd season, on a far less exclusive tag, doing the same thing. Good luck, Hope you kill a big’n!!