Unit 21 2nd season rifle

Easy_green

Hello everyone,

I have been applying for unit 21, 2nd season rifle for the past 5 years, as a non resident. I might get lucky, but I know it will probably take a few more points to draw.

Has anyone here hunted this unit during the second rifle season? If so, were the roads accessible with a good 4X4 vehicle or did you need an ATV?

What was your overall experience on this unit?

A friend and I hunted 3 rd season quite a few years ago. We pulled a trailer with 2 four wheelers and ended up leaving them in the parking lot of the motel. There was a lot of trailers left in the parking lots. There is roads all over the unit and unless you got a lot of weather a 4 x 4 truck would be good. You could take them and use them if needed. As for the quality haven’t hunted it lately but we did hunt 22 second 2 years ago and the number and quality of deer were way down. Hopefully someone who has hunted it more recently will chime in.

Thank you for the info Camper_A1. Did you harvest a decent buck during the 3rd season?

Deer population numbers decreasing seems to be a problem in multiple states. I am looking forward to the overall experience and my expectations are not sky high. My Dad drew out for the Book Cliffs on the Utah side last season. I could see the Colorado side going into unit 21 and it looked like awesome hunting area. I am excited to one day hunt it.