Unit 54 mule deer

J

Jboylan3

I drew a early rifle tag for mule deer in unit 54 anybody have any decent info on this unit I have a couple of weeks to spend hunting up there but it will be the first 2 weeks of the hunt. Thanks

I've seen more deer in the lower end of Goose Creek and south west of Deadline Ridge than anywhere. If you could make it the last two weeks I think it would be a little better for you specially the closer to the rut.

Thanks for the info I might be able to spend a little bit of time there within the last couple of weeks . But most of the time off I have will be at the start.

Im not, I am one of them damn out of staters. I am going scouting in 2 weeks up there. And i will keep going back till I find something or feel good about the area.

I am not an expert but I would be sure to look in the bottoms of those deep canyons on the north side of the range.

In lots of that country the road is on the top and the deer are in the botton.

I have seen some good bucks in the southern part (goose creek) but it was later in the year. Sure is some good looking country around there.

agreed with Heyzus. was just down there the past 5 days and most archery deer hunters are heading south along the boarder. We saw lots of deer but nothing worth pointing you in a direction for.

A lot of that area burned up this summer in fires. I don't know the areas that burnt personally I just know a lot of acres went up in smoke. Ron

Yes the fire burned some area but there is more than enough great country in the rest of the unit. Go find yourself a buck! Crowds this weekend should not be as hectic as last weekend.

>Yes the fire burned some area
>but there is more than
>enough great country in the
>rest of the unit. Go
>find yourself a buck! Crowds
>this weekend should not be
>as hectic as last weekend.
>