Unit 68

muleyczy

Anyone have any insight on this whether unit 68 is worth buring possiablly 5 points for a third or fourth season deer tag, when considering overall deer numbers and public land acess in that unit? From what I understand a third season land owner tag sells for around $1,500.00-$2,000.00?

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated. I dont need any spots or locations just info/thoughts on the overall quality of the unit.

Thanks
Muleyczy

Muleyczy, thought I would go ahead and register since I frequent MM and enjoy reading others posts and hunts. I am no expert on unit 68/681 but hunted there last season(2nd). Both units have a considerable amount of public land, both BLM and Nat'l forest. The deer herd seems to be in good shape, seeing 44 deer on a 4 mile hike the day before the season started but only 3 small bucks. We had 5 in our group(NR) and took 4 bucks. Nothing large but one of the most enjoyable hunts I have ever done. 2 in my group shot their first muleys and 1 shot his 2nd and they are near 50 years young. The game warden in the area was very helpful in the planning stages. We did pick up some 140 sheds while scouting. On the plus side, I never saw any orange off the roads and theres alot of space in between the roads. If you need any specifics, I would gladly help. We hunted unit 681. When we build our pts back up, we normally look towards the Gunnison units, just hope the winters are mild the next several years. Wyoming for us this year.

MDot

Mdot,
Thanks for the insight. During your actual hunt was there allot of bucks to sort through and what was the average size of bucks you where commonly seeing?

again thanks for the reply. If i get drawn, ill hit you up on some specifics.
Muleyczy

I've hunted it for many years, mostly because it is home for me.

I would not waste 5 points on it....although I have to admit the bigger deer have been showing up more frequently over the past 5 or so years.

What area of 68 are you planning to hunt?