What’s my chances

Hunterman1966

I’ve been thinking about the upcoming Utah big game draw. I’m a Utah resident. I have 17 points for bull elk. I’ve been debating on a early rifle Manti or a muzzleloader Panguitch Lake. It. looks like I’ll have to wait another year for the Manti tag. As for Panguitch Lake does anyone have any better data? I check the DWR website for 2020 drawing odds, but it shows n/a for 17 points for Panguitch Lake.

It shows "N/A" because no one happened to draw with that many points. Keep in mind, that those are the prior draws bonus point totals. So if you have 17 now, you would have had 16 going into this years draw. So 3 people had 20 points and they all drew so they are out of next years draw. Zero people had 19 points, 1 person had 18 points, 4 people had 17 points and 5 people had 16 points (including yourself). So you can assume (if no one jumps in or out in 2021) that there will be 10 people with 17 points or more. There were only 5 tags so it looks like you wouldn't be guaranteed a bonus tag because there will be 1 person with 19 points, 4 with 18 & 5 with 17 (including you).

*And don't forget about "point creep".

Last edited:
It shows "N/A" because no one happened to draw with that many points. Keep in mind, that those are the prior draws bonus point totals. So if you have 17 now, you would have had 16 going into this years draw. So 3 people had 20 points and they all drew so they are out of next years draw. Zero people had 19 points, 1 person had 18 points, 4 people had 17 points and 5 people had 16 points (including yourself). So you can assume (if no one jumps in or out in 2021) that there will be 10 people with 17 points or more. There were only 5 tags so it looks like you wouldn't be guaranteed a bonus tag because there will be 1 person with 19 points, 4 with 18 & 5 with 17 (including you).

*And don't forget about "point creep".

CA6B2588-9748-49EF-9815-9AF30E0F3866.jpeg